New truck curfews announced for the inner West!

October 9, 2014

MTAG president Samantha McArthur speaking at the curfew announcement at Maribyrnong town hall last night

New truck curfews announced for the inner West!

At Maribyrnong town hall last night VicRoads announced long awaited new truck curfews for the inner West.Somerville Road in Yarraville will have additional curfews introduced during school crossing times 8:00am – 9:30am and 2:30pm – 4:00pm weekdays, allowing parents and kids to travel to and from school without trucks for the first time.

Moore Street in Footscray will now finally have a night time curfew 8:00pm – 6:00am. This street has seen a 400% increase in truck numbers since 2006, this curfew is long over due. The curfew will come with exemptions for some businesses in the Tottenham area who will now be classified as a local business. This means they will be exempt from the  night time curfew. We don’t have details on this as yet.

Although there is still so much more work to do on the issue, we now have industry, government and community at the table in full acknowledgement of the problem, working to get real solutions. These new curfews are a great step forward but MTAG looks forward to working with this group to get a better balance between industry needs and community health and well being. The balance is clearly not yet there.

Its taken so much work from the community to get to this stage; countless meetings, protests, road blockades, letter writing, community stalls, letter boxing and petitions. MTAG wishes to thank and acknowledge the contributions of so many community members who made this possible. MTAG committee members, past and present,  have given so much energy and worked tirelessly on the truck issue to get a better deal for the community. A big thanks also to our members and volunteers who have supported us financially and given up their time to contribute their voice and energy to the campaign,  paving the way for these new curfews.

MTAG also acknowledges the commitment and contribution to the campaign from Maribyrnong Council in particular Mayor Grant Miles, Greens Upper House MP Colleen Hartland and Wade Noonan Labor MP for Williamstown.

Please follow and like us:

Comments are closed here.